Divorce is a major life event that anyone in the United States can have the right to file for. However, the laws and regulations regarding how to file for divorce and the process of divorce will vary from state to state. In the state of Connecticut, there are specific grounds that you can file for divorce under. Once reviewing these grounds and feeling that you want a divorce, there are certain rules that apply if you want to get a divorce in the state of Connecticut. One spouse must be a resident of Connecticut for at least a year before the divorce can be finalized. This will particularly apply to same-sex couples seeking a divorce in Connecticut or any other state that allows gay divorce. Other reasons to be eligible for divorce in Connecticut are if one spouse lived in Connecticut at the time of the marriage or if grounds for divorce arose in the state of Connecticut. If any of these apply to you, you are eligible to have your divorce processed in Connecticut.
The divorce process in Connecticut will begin when one spouse files a summons and complaint with the Supreme Court in the district where he or she lives. After this is filed, a 90-day cooling off period will ensue, during which the claim for divorce can be revoked. Over the course of this 90-day period, temporary assistance can be requested of the court by either spouse. Child custody and child support, as well as alimony are some examples of what the court can help you with. If a restraining order is needed in more violent cases, it can be obtained during this period.
After this cooling off period is completed, you and your spouse are required to do two things. The first is that you must sign a document saying that your marriage is irrevocably broken. Secondly, you must make this claim in court. At this point your assets will be divided, including property, debt, and any other marital property. If communication is at all possible, you should try to maintain it with your spouse and sit down with him or her in order to divide your assets calmly. The process will be much easier if you are both willing to compromise. Child custody, support, and visitation will be discussed at this point, it you and your spouse have any children together.
This is a basic outline of the steps that you must take in order to get a divorce in the state of Connecticut, but you should also talk to an attorney who can give you a better estimate of details specific to your case as well as a rough time estimate for how long the process will take. If you are looking to file for divorce, familiarize yourself with this process so that you can experience as quick and painless a divorce as possible.